## **Announcement**

## The 2022 Hojjat Adeli Award

## for Outstanding Contributions in Neural Systems

To honor the extraordinary leadership and impactful and inventive research contributions of the Editor-in-Chief of IJNS, World Scientific established the Hojjat Adeli Award for Outstanding Contributions in Neural Systems in 2010 awarded annually to the author(s) of the most innovative paper published in the previous volume year of the International Journal of Neural Systems. It includes a certificate and a cash reward which was increased to \$5,000 in 2019. The winner of the 2022 Hojjat Adeli Award for Outstanding Contributions in Neural Systems is:

C. Ieracitano, F.C. Morabito, A. Hussain, and N. Mammone, A hybrid-domain deep learning-based BCI for discriminating hand motion planning from EEG sources, *International Journal of Neural Systems*, 31:9, 2021, 2150038 (20 pages)

Authors' affiliations are Mediterranean University of Reggio Calabria, Italy, and Edinburgh Napier University, U.K.

- The inaugural award in 2011 was awarded to A. Shoebs, J. Guttag, T. Pang, and S.
   Schachter of Massachusetts Institute of Technology and Harvard University.
- The 2012 award was awarded to L. Ronan, R. Pienaar, G. Williams, E. Bullmore, T.J
   Crow, N. Roberts, P.B Jones, J. Suckling, and P.C. Fletcher of University of Cambridge,
   Massachusetts General Hospital, University of Oxford, and University of Edinburgh.

- The 2013 award was awarded to G. Van Dijck, K. Seidl, O. Paul, P. Ruther, M.M. Van Hulle and R. Maex of Catholic University of Leuven, Belgium, University of Freiburg, Germany, and University of Hertfordshire, United Kingdom.
- The 2014 award was awarded to J. D. Enderle and D. A. Sierra of the University of Connecticut, USA
- The 2015 award was awarded to J. Friedrich, R. Urbancziky, and W. Senn of University
  of Cambridge, UK, University of Bern, Switzerland, and Columbia University, USA.
- The 2016 award was awarded to A. Deleforge, F. Forbes, and R. Horaud of INRIA,
   Grenoble, France.
- The 2017 award was awarded to Y. Yang, T. Solis-Escalante, J. Yao, A. Daffertshofer,
   A.C. Schouten, and F.C.T. Van der Helm of Delft University of Technology, The
   Netherlands, Northwestern University, USA, and VU University Amsterdam, The

   Netherlands.
- The 2018 award was awarded to F. Weissenberger, F. Meier, J. Lengler, H. Einarsson, and A. Steger of ETH Zurich, Switzerland.
- The 2019 award was awarded to T.L. Eissa, C.A. Schevon, R.G. Emerson, G.M.
   Mckhann Jr., R.R. Goodman, and W. Van Drongelen, of University of Chicago and Columbia University.
- The 2020 award was awarded to S.E. Park, N.G. Laxpati, C.A. Gutekunst, M.J. Connolly,
   J. Tung, K. Berglund, B. Mahmoudi, and R.E. Gross of Georgia Institute of Technology,
   Emory University, and Stanford University.
- The 2021 award was awarded to M. Leming, J.M. Gorriz, and J. Suckling, University of Cambridge, U.K., and University of Granada, Spain